I Am David

I Am David

Book - 1989
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
1
1
 …

'You must get away tonight,' the man had told him.

David escapes from the concentration camp where he has spent his entire life and flees across Europe. He is utterly alone - who can he trust? What will await him? And all the while, how can he be sure that they won't catch up with him . . .

This is the remarkable story of David's introduction to the world: sea, mountains and flowers, the colours of Italy, the taste of fruit, people laughing and smiling, all are new to David. David learns that his polite manner, his haunted eyes and his thin features are strange to other people. He must learn to fend for himself in this strange new world.

For readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Book Thief. An incredible story of survival against all odds and self discovery.

Publisher: London : Mammoth, 1989, c1963
ISBN: 9780749701369
0749701366
Branch Call Number: J FIC Holm
Characteristics: 190 p

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
beaholmes
Feb 01, 2016

very compelling read

doodlebug Jul 03, 2009

A mature theme that is handled sensitively for a younger audience.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
doodlebug Jul 10, 2009

doodlebug thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
doodlebug Jul 03, 2009

David, a young boy who has only known the hardships of growing up in a concentration camp escapes and travels across Europe to find his mother.

Quotes

Add a Quote
doodlebug Jul 10, 2009

"Before he had come to the town he had known about nothing but death: here he had learnt to live, to decide things for himself; he had learnt what it felt like to wash in clean water in the sunshine until he was clean himself, and what it felt like to satisfy his hunger with food that tasted good; he had learnt the sound of laughter that was free from cruelty; he had learnt the meaning of beauty -"

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at SMPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top